Restricted Matters

Created by Kylie Mitchell, Modified on Wed, 11 Jan 2023 at 03:50 PM by Kylie Mitchell

From time to time there may be a need to quickly override the normal permissions on an action. For example if a routine matter suddenly becomes sensitive.


In these cases you can change the action status to "Restricted" by either:

  • clicking on the action icon.
  • By editing the action details.

Switch the Restricted Access option to "On". 

You will then be able to select which individuals have access to the action by clicking on the "Add User" button. Nobody else in the firm will be able to see the action or find it listed in search results.


A "Restricted" banner will then display across the action icon.


As well as the restricted matter not being visible, any items associated with that matter will not be visible such as tasks. 


Permissions

Only certain system roles will be allowed to restrict actions. 

To enable a system role to restrict actions the Administrator need to do the following:

  • Click on Admin  
  • Select the Users & Permissions tile.
  • Click on Data Permissions
  • Select the System Role you'd like top change and the system object Action table. 
  • Check the "can_restrict" permission.  
  • Click Save.

Safeguards

Since not even system administrators will be able to access this action there is a safeguard to prevent you from removing logins that are linked to restricted actions.



Related Articles: