How to Delete an Invoice

Created by Allison Cloyd, Modified on Sun, 15 Jan 2023 at 09:43 PM by Robert Butler

This article will explain the steps involved in deleting an invoice.

 

Overview

In some situations, it may be necessary to edit or delete an invoice that you have drafted or produced for a client. 

 

Finding the Invoice

If you haven’t already located the invoice in question, you will need to access it from the Bills List either inside of the matter the invoice is related to or from the Billing drop-down located on the main navigation bar at the top of the screen.  You can sort and filter each list to find the invoice you would like to delete.

/helpdesk/attachments/150002488380

 

Produced Invoices vs. Draft Invoices

It is important to note that it may not be necessary to delete an invoice if the invoice has not yet been produced, and that time entries may not be edited if they appear on a produced invoice.  

If the invoice is still in draft status, you can simply edit the invoice or time entries before approving it.  

If the invoice is already approved, you will need to revert the invoice back to draft status using the “Revert to Draft” button located at the top of the Bill Production screen in Mass Billing.  In situations where the invoice was created in error, you may still want to delete the drafted invoice. 

/helpdesk/attachments/150002488381

Produced invoices cannot be edited and must be deleted and reissued.  Keep in mind that it may be possible that the client has already received the invoice and verifying that it is appropriate to delete a produced invoice is critical. 

 

Deleting the Invoice

Once you have located the invoice and verified that it should be deleted, you can simply click the Bill Number of the invoice in any list to open the invoice for editing.  The Delete button is located at the bottom left of this window. 

/helpdesk/attachments/150002488382

 

FAQ's

Q. Can I recover a deleted invoice?

A. No, unfortunately, there is no way to recover a deleted invoice. If an invoice is deleted the WIP (Work in Progress) is added back into the matter so the invoice can be produced again if required. 


Related Articles: